Author Topic: Will smoking nuts trigger allergies in subsequent cooks?  (Read 6456 times)

YoDadio

Will smoking nuts trigger allergies in subsequent cooks?
« on: December 08, 2016, 10:45:17 AM »
My apologies if this has already been addressed, all of my searches keep circling back to the wood and not the nuts themselves.

My daughter has tree nut allergies so I want to be safe with my smoker, particularly in regards to potential residue left from smoking almonds. In searching the web there are no shortage of people saying one shouldn't even use "nut" woods (hickory, oak, pecan, almond, etc.) when there are nut allergies in play. Which honestly never occurred to me and seems like overkill, but I am not a doctor nor do I play one on TV. Fortunately we have not had any issues thus far despite using hickory...

Is there anything to worry about? If so, do I just say "no" to almonds, cook it off/re-season, or deep clean following all almond smokes?

I thank you in advance for your input.
Gary in Castaic, CA
SI 3D
Fire Magic Custom II

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: Will smoking nuts trigger allergies in subsequent cooks?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2016, 11:03:39 AM »
My first recommendation is to consult your doctor as he would be the authority on this issue.

That being said, I am not an expert, but do have a niece and a nephew who have severe nut allergies who I am very close to. So, I have been fairly well prepared by their parents (my siblings) about most of the issues. I have not heard them talk about this issue, though. But, but my initial thought would be to not smoke anything nut related including the wood in your smoker.

I asked my sister who knows more about this stuff than anyone else I know, and she said responded with:

I would NOT! The residue can travel. Definitely not!

Let us know if you hear anything different from your medical professional. :)
Gregg - Fargo, ND