Author Topic: Model 3 Mobility  (Read 1813 times)

elk_smoker

Model 3 Mobility
« on: October 13, 2014, 10:47:28 AM »
Hello to all! 

I am still a newbie in pre-purchase mode.  I have decided on the Smokin-it brand, but still have one burning (pardon the pun) question before I pull the trigger...

My main concern is moving the Model #3.  I have limited space under my carport and will want to store the smoker in my storage shed which is raised about 18" off of the ground.  The shed is located about 50 feet from my carport and has a ramp leading up to the doors.  The normal 4" casters will not work for moving through the yard and up & down the ramp, so I am trying to come up with the best solution for my requirement.

One solution I cam up with is to purchase this stainless steel cart from Sam's Club and modify it, replacing the casters on the cart with 6" or 8" never flat "pneumatic" tires, then cutting the posts down a little bit to lower the top shelf down to a "top heavy safe" level.  The reason for cutting  the the front posts down would be to allow the door on the Model #3 to open without obstruction. The cart has a 500lb capacity.

See the cart here:
http://www.samsclub.com/sams/utility-cart/prod9070084.ip

The other solution I cam up with is a hydraulic table-lift from Harbor Freight.  This is a cart that raises and lowers via hydraulics.  The lift height is 27.5", which would be great for the Model #3. This would be a great solution as the unit could be lowered for moving, raised to operating height via the hydraulic foot pump, then lowered again for moving back into the shed.  The two problems I see with this solution are: 1. Replacing the casters with yard-compatible tires and 2.  It would look REALLY funky.

The table-lift can be seen here:
http://www.harborfreight.com/automotive-motorcycle/lifts-stands/500-lb-capacity-hydraulic-table-cart-60730-10041.html