Author Topic: First smoke  (Read 5678 times)

Snoopy

First smoke
« on: July 14, 2014, 01:38:01 AM »
Hi all newbie here,
I posted in the intro section to. I'm new to smoking. Just did first smoke today (sun) in the #1. After much reading on here and picking up tips decided to smoke some ribs first. Bought 2 racks, said loinback ribs. 1 from Kroger store and 1 from walmart. Took the membrane off, thanks for the tip about starting in the middle and using paper towel, worked great! Cut ribs in half and slathered on plain ole cheap yellow mustard, rubbed with famous Daves rib rub and wrapped and let'em in the fridge for 24hrs. Lined the bottom and punched hole then box with foil and used small loaf pan half full with apple juice beside the box. Weighed out 2oz hickory that Steve sent when I bought. Also threw a big potato rubbed with olive oil and garlic salt on the top rack. Everything fit perfectly on 2 racks. Closed er up and set for 225-230. I used my stove countdown clock and set for 5hr and 10 minutes. Did the no-peek method and never opened up to check till timer went off. Had nice consistent smoke pretty much whole time. Did the toothpick check, pulled away nicely. Took out and let rest for 20min. The result, perfect ribs and potato! Nice bark and great flavor very tender. Potato was tender and had great hickory flavor. Girlfriend was impressed and couldn't believe it was so easy, so it passed the test  :). Cant wait to do some more soon and try some pulled pork, brisket. Thanks for a great product Steve and all the knowledge that's passed on here! I'm not the best with taking pics and posting but i'll see if I can figure it out and throw some up.
Lance from Woodstock OH, #1 owner

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
Re: First smoke
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2014, 07:21:54 AM »
Congratulations on a successful maiden voyage!    Ribs are a nice easy way to get started with the lazy Q!  Cheers
Steve from Delaware
Smokin-It #2

mnsmoker