Author Topic: Just ruined 8lbs of eye of round to make pastrami.  (Read 6283 times)

ARmike

Just ruined 8lbs of eye of round to make pastrami.
« on: November 24, 2020, 11:08:21 PM »
I used Pork Belly's recipe to brine for corned beef, eye of round for 5 days.  I smoked low 175 to 150 IT and I had salt licks.  Even made the rub with his recipe exact.  I am a medical professional and can follow recipes and procedure. 
When removing from brine, patting dry, applying rub and taking to smoker, I had this inkling.  After all the smoking and resting and then carving I got Lot's pillar of salt. 
Thought to myself.  Wait a minute, if one has to take an already corned beef and soak it for one or two days to remove the excess salt, why wasn't this step in there?.  Bingo, and it was tough.
I have smoked eye of round following Tony's rib roast method and got very good results.  This was horrific.
What did I learn. 1) do not jump in to a new method with more meat than you need to test run. 2) Assimilate your previous "good" experiences with the new "way" and correlate them.  If they don't jive be, in the immortal words of Elmer Fudd, "shhhhh be very, very, careful. 
Oh, I will try again but not the method I used.
Well I have to go throw out 8lbs of meat.  I was going to feed it to the monster German Shepard next door but was afraid I would send the poor beast into kidney failure and he is hell on coyotes.
Mike from Mountain Home, AR
Love to cook for my wife(empty nest), kids
Live to dive, Dive to live (scuba)
#2, weber kettle, char-broil infrared three burner. Oh, two burner on pontoon(gas)
Woo Pig Soooie

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: Just ruined 8lbs of eye of round to make pastrami.
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2020, 11:45:09 PM »
I ruined a butt once by oversmoking and produced a creosote bomb.  Very disheartening.  Tossed it.  We learn from our errors.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle