Author Topic: When to use a liquid pan, when not?  (Read 3005 times)

UpNSmoke

When to use a liquid pan, when not?
« on: May 14, 2020, 05:21:49 PM »
Newbie here, read a few on this but still unclear as to the answer to my post. Have a 2A, brand new. Used a pan with a beer for last evenings baby backs and tey turned out great. Question is, when to use a liquid pan, when not? What meats to use, what foods not to use. TIA friends!
Lee - currently in WI, future Texan.
I like to reminisce with people I don't know.

barelfly

Re: When to use a liquid pan, when not?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2020, 05:45:13 PM »
I very rarely use a water pan these days. I don’t even remember the last time I used a water/liquid pan during a cook on my 3D.

I guess in my experience, I haven’t really noticed a difference with or without, so just starting going with out. I’d say, cook those ribs exactly how you did minus the beer and see if you can tell a difference? If you like it with, then keep on cooking with it.

It will be interesting to see what others say. Perhaps I need to relearn on the liquid use :)
Jeremy in NM
3D for lazy q
Bullet 4 burner gasser by Bull Grills
Weber Kettle with a Slow n Sear

Lonzinomaker

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2020, 06:49:19 PM »
I don't use a water pan anymore either. Meat is moist without it.
Dave
Smokin-It #3 main smoker.
1400 Smokin Tex (same size as #2) for Snowbird time.
Smokin-It #1 for camping trips.
Big Chief with mailbox mod for cheese smoking
Blackstone 22in griddle with Bakerstone pizza oven
Spokane, WA

mike1910

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2020, 07:37:27 PM »
When I first started out with my #3 I was using a water pan on everything. Then after a number of smokes I started to forget to put it in. I never noticed a difference so now I rarely if ever use one. 🤷‍♂️
Mike from NE Minnesota
SI #3

Pork Belly

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2020, 07:39:46 PM »
What Mike said, applies to me and my #3
Brian - Michigan-NRA Life Member