Author Topic: First timer questions  (Read 8636 times)

Islander

First timer questions
« on: March 18, 2013, 06:06:38 PM »
Hi smokers, I'm new to smoking, and we just bought our first smoker, a smokin-it #2 smoker. We got it and seasoned it right away, like the paperwork said too. Than we smoked up a load of herring and whitefish, about 12 pounds of fillets. Everything we read said to smoke fish at about 180 degrees for 4-5 hours untill the fish reached a temperature of 140 degrees. So we did that, and 7 hours later the fillets were barely 100 degrees and clearly not done. We ended up finishing them in the oven. The outdoor temp. was 20 and dropping, so I'm wondering if it was too cold or maybe we had too big of a batch or maybe a combination. I really like this smoker but maybe we need to wait until warmer weather. Any help will be appreciated. Thankyou- Islander

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: First timer questions
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 09:29:57 PM »
I would start investigating by checking to see if the smoker reaches the desired temperature, whether 180 or 200, whatever, with a good  remote digital thermometer that you have verified the accuracy of with boiling water.  I would not think that the outside temperature would have much of an effect, but it may.  Can you move the smoker into a sheltered area?  If so, just fire it up with no wood and monitor the temperature.

David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

Grimm5577

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2013, 09:32:40 AM »
I have a #2 and I have used it all winter without a problem hitting desired temp.

Islander

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2013, 10:01:39 AM »