Author Topic: Pastrami Brining Help!  (Read 3569 times)

SoupBoss

Pastrami Brining Help!
« on: July 06, 2017, 12:08:00 PM »
Help!  I'm five days into brining an 8 pound brisket to make pastrami.  I had it triple bagged in ziplock bags and placed it in a large metal sheet pan in the fridge.  The bags have begun to leak brine. 

This is my first attempt at making pastrami.  What should I do about this brine issue?  Should I be concerned by the brine in the aluminum pan possibly comingling with the brisket?  Will there be issues with the cure since the brine no longer completely covers the brisket?  Do I add more brine?  Leave it alone and forge ahead?   Chuck it altogether?

Any information about this would be greatly appreciated!

Jerri
AKA:  SoupBoss
Salem, Oregon

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
Re: Pastrami Brining Help!
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2017, 12:29:58 PM »
I would get it out of the aluminum into something glass or a food-safe plastic if possible. In the short term, try re-bagging. You can make/add more brine if needed. It's best if it's covered in brine, but seeing how you are 5 days in, if you have enough brine where it's at least submerged half-way, you can flip it every 12 hours, it should still work. You might want to add a day if it's not covered in brine. For next time, the Cambro 12 quart square container is great for brining brisket flats, butt, chickens, and fits in most refrigerators. Also several other sizes and shapes to choose from. I prefer the Clear containers over the White, Polyethylene, or Translucent. It's nice to get a lid for it too.

https://www.webstaurantstore.com/3095/square-clear-food-storage-containers-lids.html?vendor=Cambro

https://www.katom.com/cat/cambro-containers.html?

https://www.katom.com/cat/cambro-food-pans.html
« Last Edit: July 07, 2017, 12:57:42 PM by SconnieQ »
Kari from Madison WI "77 Square Miles Surrounded by Reality"