Author Topic: confused new member  (Read 1236 times)

confused

confused new member
« on: April 01, 2022, 01:14:25 PM »
I must introduce myself by making a few confessions.

Firstly, I am a newbie when it comes to smoking foods. I have taken part in the processes but have simply been the laborer processing meat to be smoked. Sausage then was smoked in a walk in smoker.

I am the only one in my family that really cares for smoked foods, and I generally only cook for my wife and I.

I have a pellet smoker with side cold smoke cabinet and started smoking myself some cheese and salmon. I loved it. I then wanted to smoke some sausage links and summer sausage, but found that I could not get proper temps on my current pellet grill.

I discovered that a local store sold a nice looking all stainless smoker and I had a coupon so I decided to purchase it. Sorry to tell you this, but it is a competitors model that is pretty much identical to your number 2 analog smoker. I had not heard of either of your companies before my impulsive purchase. I have never been in the market for my own smoker until after I tried to make summer sausage on my pellet grill and fought the temperatures. Too hot in main part of grill and too cold in cold box. Opening and closing lid over and over was not going to cut it. Not enough ice to keep temps down. I figured the new smoker be the answer.

I quickly discovered that these analog smokers are likely ideal for ribs, butts, large pieces of meat, but not perfected for sausage, at least not when trying to use all 5 racks. Trouble is, I wish to make 15-20 pound batches of sausage at a time.