Author Topic: Rub just for beef ribs  (Read 8513 times)

cohiba

Rub just for beef ribs
« on: March 15, 2013, 09:25:44 AM »
Hey All,

Newbie here so be kind if this is a remedial question...remember newbie smoker ....so that in turn means newbie rub questions.

Let me explain what I'm wanting, then it might narrow it down.

1st.  My wife and I like a dry or semi juicy beef rib.  Nothing driping sauce from it or on it. ....to much. The ribs either "naked" with just rub or a tad bit of sauce.  We like to put the sauce (amount) on it ourselves as we eat it.

Of course we want it to be moist or somewhat moist from iit's own fat or juices.  Not boot leather, cut it with an electric knife..tough.

So..what rubs have you used and liked, disliked, or even made yourself.  PLEASE list websites on where to purchase and you can even post ones you don't like....you must put why AND not be a jack a-- about it.  Discussion please, no flaming!!!!

Also...for beef ribs...what temp on the smokin it smoker, how long and if you did a foil wrap or not.

Opps...forgot.  How about a sweet to semisweet type rub...my wife doesn't like mouth burning food.  So, sweet to semisweet rub.

Thanks!!!
Cohiba
« Last Edit: March 15, 2013, 09:41:11 AM by cohiba »

Rob Babcock

Re: Rub just for beef ribs
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 04:04:12 AM »
Can't help much with a recipe, but I've never found a need to foil anything in a Smokin-It smoker.  They're very "moist", meaning they control airflow well and don't dry out food at all.

gloksrule

• Bacon defines me,,Ronnie from OKC,OK
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2013, 12:44:59 AM »
have u seen all the rubs and sauce that the Ace hardware on britton rd has? its between penn and western on britton rd

UWFSAE

• Smoker, Griller, & International Man of Mystery
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2013, 01:07:03 AM »