Author Topic: Home Coffee Roasting 101  (Read 1567 times)

LarryD

• 3DW
Home Coffee Roasting 101
« on: April 11, 2019, 08:23:53 PM »
I only began smoking foods a couple years ago when I got my Smokin-It #2.  I've been roasting coffee at home for ~15 years.  There's been a little interest expressed in coffee roasting, so I thought I'd post some stuff to get anyone interested started.  While you certainly can sink incalculable amounts of money into roasting, the awesome part is that you don't have to when starting out.  Just be aware that once you go down the rabbit hole you may never return.  :)

Why would you want to home roast? 

• Cost - You can actually end up saving money, as a "pound" of high-quality pre-roasted coffee is often $15+ these days while home roasting can cost 1/2 that.  I put pound in quotes because a lot of coffee shops now sell their beans in 12 oz bags.  Also, when you roast, a pound of green coffee may only yield 12 oz of roasted coffee due to moisture loss that occurs as part of the roasting process.
  • Freshness - If you have a high quality coffee shop near you then you can buy fresh coffee.  If you're getting your coffee from the supermarket, (some) mail order places, out of a can, or a big box store then you're almost certainly buying coffee that is past its prime.  In some cases it was never prime in the first place, too.