Author Topic: Roll your own???......wood that is  (Read 5585 times)

whokluvr

Roll your own???......wood that is
« on: December 17, 2013, 11:32:16 AM »
I'm jumping the gun because my smoker hasn't even arrived yet but I'm already wondering about cutting and using my own wood. I plan to start off smoking with commercially available wood to get a little experience and establish a baseline but thought it would be fun to eventually start experimenting with some of the trees growing on my farm.  Hickory, Red / White Oak, Maple, Cherry, Beech, Persimmon, PawPaw, Sasafrass, Apple and many other species are all available. Is there any benefit to using freshly cut wood and should it be dried to a particular moisture level before use? I read another post that said it is important the wood chunks be bark free.  Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

rickne

Re: Roll your own???......wood that is
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2013, 12:25:14 PM »
I don't cut my own wood so I'm not an expert or have any experience on how seasoned it should be.  From what I understand, it should be seasoned, but not completely dried out.

I will say that I prefer no bark and knock as much off my chunks as I can.

I'm a big fan of Sasafrass, but it's not easy to find locally.  It's fairly strong so I usually mix a chuck of it with a chunk of oak.

I'd say experiment away.  Keep in mind that these use very little wood and it's easy to over smoke things.  You could send me two 12"x4" sasafrass logs and that would last me a year.  I've gotten to the point that I'm splitting the chunks that I buy locally.

Rick  --  The Cornhusker State
Model #3 Jack Daniels Edition (W/ Cart)
Toggle Switch Bypass, Cold weather Cord, Auber PID

cwshiles

• Get out there and Smoke it!
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2013, 12:31:12 PM »