Author Topic: Hello from Sunny Bonaire  (Read 3064 times)

BonaireBBQ

Hello from Sunny Bonaire
« on: July 28, 2016, 05:37:14 PM »
Hello All
This is Walt - BonaireBBQ. I have been trolling this site for many months, 6+ and researching Smokers for longer pretty well set on a Smokin It smoker most likely 4D. I have not pulled the trigger yet as I am waiting on the meat supplier to confirm they can deliver Brisket and Boston Butt. I have been grilling and smoking on charcoal and gas grills for more years than I can remember. My father taught me at a very young age. I moved to Bonaire (Many may have to "google" it to find Bonaire, Try googling "Bonaire Dutch Caribbean") 26 years ago from Denver to run a dive shop. I did that for 10 years then started my own Technical Dive operation and ran that for 15 years. Sold it just over a year ago. Now trying to figure out what to do when I grow up. If I ever do? I can't just sit around in semi-retirement. I do Harley tours of the Island, Bus tours, Land rover tours, ATV tours I also drive a dive truck for the local Marine Ecology Collage on Island. I hate having to fly to Aruba to get real BBQ so the plan is to start a small BBQ catering Business down here doing US style BBQ one or two days-night per week. I plan to start out with brisket and pulled pork. Most likely expanding to ribs and chicken as that is what the locals are used to for BBQ-grilled meat as no one smokes meat down here they just grill it over mesquite lots of mesquite down here. So get ready for a Bunch of questions. I guess I am headed back to my roots. I spent 15 years in the food and beverage industry before moving down here.

Thanks in advance for all the questions you will get and in anticipation of the great answers from all of you! I am very impressed with this forum as being in the dive business some of those forums are not so good or polite.

Thanks All

Walt III

PS yes I am Walter W. S. III
Walt in Bonaire

drains

Re: Hello from Sunny Bonaire