Author Topic: Advise needed for wood choice and amount.  (Read 2275 times)

Drayken

Advise needed for wood choice and amount.
« on: January 27, 2019, 05:31:00 PM »
I'm new to smoking, and plan to get my smoker soon. I'm trying to also get the other stuff I need, so I'm not scrambling later. Seems everyone suggests smokinlicious. Their 1 cubic foot box is obviously a great value, compared to the 1/4 and 2/3. BUT, I have no idea how much I will be using. I imagine, I will smoke, average, one to two times a week. Mostly chicken, then pork ribs and butt. I also want to try smoking cheese. (We are low carb, so we go thru cheese and meat like crazy, so the smoker should get used a good amount)

I'm not sure on the woods either. Seems like Hickory, and cherry are the go to? What would be a good 3rd? Thanks for any advice.
CJ. 3D wifi.

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: Advise needed for wood choice and amount.
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 07:09:45 PM »
Best advice I can give is to visit the fruit - a - wood site and the smokinlicious site for woods.  You will want chunks. They offer advice on what wood works for various foods. They also have variety pks.  Prices are very reasonable.   You can also look at the wood section on the forum.  You might also want to get a digital scale and weigh your wood so as to not over smoke. A couple of ounces imparts good flavor. Some like a strong flavor and go 5 or 6 ounces. A lot of it is experimentation, starting with a couple ounces and adjusting from there depending upon the flavor you like. 5 lbs of each wood you prefer would be a good start.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

LarryD

• 3DW
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2019, 11:59:51 PM »