Author Topic: #2 Coming  (Read 2801 times)

wmwilker

#2 Coming
« on: June 17, 2014, 10:32:51 AM »
I just got my shipped notice and wanted to introduce myself. I'm new to smoking so I have a lot to learn so please bear with me.
I like cooking and love a lot of different types of meat. I'm interested in smoking sausage and cheese as well as the regular stuff.
I'm in Alabama so I have some experience with the grill and have smoked some sirloin tips on a Weber kettle girll.
I'm looking forward to meeting you guys and learning a new way to cook.

Mike

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
Re: #2 Coming
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2014, 10:37:24 AM »
Welcome to the Smokin-It Forums from ND Mike!

You have definitely come to the right place and you are starting out with a Cadillac instead of a Yugo (throwback ;)).

There is a ton of information on this site and lots of great recipes and tips in the Recipes section.

I always recommend a Boston Butt as a first smoke as it is pretty fool proof and gives you an idea of how your smoker will work. I brine all my butts and have had awesome results.

Let us know if you have any questions.
Gregg - Fargo, ND
Smokin-It #3 (purchased in 2014) that replaced a Masterbuilt XL (ugh) and a 10+ Year-Old Big Chief (still used for fish), and few others over the years, along with variety of Weber Gas/Charcoal Grills, Anova Sous Vide, etc. devices.

Pork Belly

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2014, 01:00:38 PM »
Welcome Mike, Shipping takes a few days but it gives you time to read up and see what direction you want to start. Lots of good information here. ND and I both make a ton of sausages, let us know if you have questions or issues.
Brian - Michigan-NRA Life Member
"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity."
- Sigmund Freud

Smokster

• Model #3 Owner
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2014, 07:26:56 PM »
Hi Mike,