Author Topic: Brisket Fiasco  (Read 1134 times)

Skook54

Brisket Fiasco
« on: August 28, 2021, 01:48:33 PM »
Got a whole nice brisket (flat and point), smoked at 225 with end goal of 200 degrees reached (remote thermometer in).  Took it out at stall (160 degrees), and wrapped in peach paper.

It tasted great but was TOO DONE. NOT a happy Brisket Man!!!

I did NOT have any liquid in the pan below.

Any thoughts from brisket smokers who have better results, Please?

mike1910

Re: Brisket Fiasco
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2021, 11:29:51 PM »
I’m no brisket expert but from my limited experience and from what I’ve read internal temp is a guide and you’re more so looking for the brisket to be jiggly and to probe with no resistance. Another thing you could check is your probes to make sure they’re reading accurate. Also- when you say no liquid in the pan below do you mean you didn’t put any liquid in the water pan or no liquid rendered out? Whatever the case don’t let it deter you, every smoke is a learning experience! Cheers
Mike from NE Minnesota
SI #3

old sarge

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2021, 02:23:36 AM »
I do not take my briskets (or butts) out at the stall and wrap.  I just let it work its way through till I get the 190/195 IT.  The only time I wrap is when it has reached that final temp and then into a cooler till eating time.

By the. way, welcome to the forum and what smoker do you have?
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

OldeSmoker

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2021, 09:53:24 AM »