Author Topic: Hello from Central FL  (Read 4232 times)

UFG8r

Hello from Central FL
« on: September 12, 2013, 08:43:58 PM »
Well I finally did it.  Been looking at these smokers and this forum for the last 6 months but finally pulled the trigger on a #3 earlier this week and I think it should be here tomorrow (that is what FedEx is telling me tonight). Debated between the #2 and the #3 and decided on the #3 as we have friends and family over a lot during the football season.  Also went ahead and bought the ET-732 thermometer since many of you recommended it.

I live in the Orlando area and I am a native Floridian (not many of us here anymore).  As you can tell from my username I am a Gator fan - spent 6 great years in Gainesville.    I grill a lot but I am new to smoking although I have always loved to eat Q. 

Well I appreciate the info everyone has posted on here.  I look forward to learning from all the posts, using the recipes and posting some pics.

Go Gators!
Will from FL

UWFSAE

• Smoker, Griller, & International Man of Mystery
Re: Hello from Central FL
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 09:18:55 PM »
Welcome Will!  I grew up in Panama City and went to college in Pensacola so I understand the sorry state of Sunshine State 'Q (though I do have a soft spot in my heart for Sonny's BBQ).

Having owned the #3 for half a year, I'll give you any info or tips I can, as will the rest of the regulars on the board.

Congrats on your purchase, I guarantee you'll love it!
Joe from Houston, TX
Proud owner of a Smokin-It #3!

Smokster

• Model #3 Owner
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 10:05:36 PM »
Hi Will,

Welcome to the club and congratulations.  I also purchased the #3 and T-732 and my decision was based on posts within the forum.  I also did a lot of research and I am extremely happy with my smoker.  You made the right choice and you definitely won't regret it.

Happy Smokin It!
Tony from Toronto
Smokin It and Lovin It

bighoss