Author Topic: New #1 in CT  (Read 5802 times)

pax238

Re: New #1 in CT
« Reply #15 on: January 07, 2016, 10:03:25 PM »
That's a fine-looking pie, Barry!

Thanks Tony.
Barry from CT
A little bit less of a complete newbie with a #1

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
« Reply #16 on: January 07, 2016, 10:38:39 PM »
If I could make a pizza crust like that, with the big bubbles, I'd be happy.
Kari from Madison WI "77 Square Miles Surrounded by Reality"
Singing the praises of small and simple. SI Model #1 with "Libby the dog" poultry skin eating accessory.
Weber Smokey Mountain (are we still friends?), Weber Kettle Grill (stop complaining WSM, I still have a chance)
Anova WiFi Sous Vide

coachB

« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2016, 04:04:17 PM »
Barry, you got me thinking about Hummel's so I checked out their website again.  Surprise, surprise, they will now ship their dogs out of state!  The shipping is exorbitant (FedEx overnight perishable).  I balked at first, but finally talked myself into it.  25 lbs/$100, shipping $128.+.  I also found the rolls you suggested and they are good.  Poorer but happier camper.

On another note, as a previous poster said, how do you get that kind of air into your dough to bubble like that.  I know the pizzerias pop the bubbles during baking, but I always liked crusts with the bubbles.  Is it the flour?  I use King Arthur Bread Flour because I can't find Caputo 00 down here and the qnty requirement for shipping is just too large for 1 person to reasonably use.  Inquiring minds want to know.
Bill from Myrtle Beach SC

pax238

« Reply #18 on: February 10, 2016, 05:05:04 PM »
If I could make a pizza crust like that, with the big bubbles, I'd be happy.

You can Kari. More details in this post. http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=4647.0