Poll

making ribs for the first time

best options for first rib smoke
1 (100%)
best wood types to use to accent flavor.
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 1

Author Topic: my model 1 just shipped!  (Read 7464 times)

greg7878

my model 1 just shipped!
« on: April 06, 2015, 01:50:37 PM »
Hello.  i finally saved up enough to order the model 1 and it has shipped this morning.  I am somewhat new to smoking.  i have a big easy electric smoker roaster which is a fantastic cooker, but a troublesome smoker.  it can never keep the smoke going.  i have some location restrictions that kept me from getting the model 2, in that i live in a top floor apartment with a screened in patio.  i am really looking forward to finally trying to make some ribs for the first time and i would love any suggestions, tips, recipes, guidance, etc. to try and keep it a good first experience.  also, i have read that the amount of wood used is very important.  it looks like wood amounts are recommended in ounces but i didn't know if i need a scale or if most people just ball-park it based on how many wood chunks used.  oh, i almost forgot, what is the right or best type of wood?  i have to go pick some up before it arrives.  thanks for any help and i'm very excited to be part of the smokin-it family.  looking forward to many weekends of smoking.
greg7878

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
Re: my model 1 just shipped!
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2015, 02:03:24 PM »
Hey Greg,

Below is a link for the first ribs I smoked and they turned out great. If you do not have a digital thermometer you will want to invest in one. A lot of folks use the Maverick 732 or 733, but there are others out there that can be had for $25-$30.00. For your wood I would stay away from the box stores, in a pinch maybe, but the wood is normally very dry. Maine Grilling Woods is where I buy my wood and it works out great.