Author Topic: GO CATS#BBN  (Read 2145 times)

Specks

• Now I can go fishing and smoke a butt - dang-it
GO CATS#BBN
« on: April 03, 2015, 11:54:13 AM »
This forum is a he%! of a sales tool... Y'all made me buy this Smokin-it #3 cooker so I hope it's up to the hype. I've been perusing the Smokin-it forum for a couple months as well as other sites. I started smoking meats with my father in law in the late 80's after moving to Paducah KY. He had a custom double wall 50 gal upright smoker built with 4 rotisserie shelves. We only used oak & hickory in an open fire and shoveled coals in like you would on a steam engine. Then we got into making hardwood charcoal while we were smoking meat. Something to do other than drink beer while tending the smoker. That smoker is now with my brother in-law who resides on the southeast corner of our property so it is still getting a high level of use. We've also put a few hogs in the ground but haven't done one for a couple years. Its a lot of work and takes like a rick of wood but dang good. TEC grill is great for steaks and burgers, I mean you need a fire suite and long utensils that thing gets so hot, it's not the best for cooking anything slow...
My #3 smoker showed up at 1:30 yesterday - by 2:00 the door was closed and the seasoning process had started. The day before I brined a butt and a huge slab of country style ribs. The ribs went on around 6:15 PM - why not I had to pick my son and nephew up from the airport at 10:30 last night. So around 11:45 I pulled the ribs, slathered on some home made Carolina sauce and the 3 of us destroyed them. They turned out great - sorry no photo of the ribs. Fast forward to 5:30 am this morning - took the 5.8 pound pork butt and shut the door. So now is 5 hours in the #3, IT is 147. All the gals should be home from OBA (Orange Beach Alabama) I call it LA (Lower Alabama), around 6:00 this evening so I'm hoping to have it wrapped and in the cooler by 5:00.