Author Topic: This smokin-it wood safe to use?  (Read 4858 times)

Theslacker

This smokin-it wood safe to use?
« on: March 16, 2016, 11:44:03 PM »
Hi folks. I'm brand new to smoking and am very excited. I just got my #2 smoker today. I also ordered three bags of wood from smokin-it and have a question. I attached pictures- is the darkness on the wood mold? Something else? I also saw some spalting on the sugar maple chunks and thought I read not to smoke splayed wood. I just got these bags in today with my order and wanted to know if it's all kosher or if there's an issue. Thanks much!
« Last Edit: March 17, 2016, 12:06:23 AM by Theslacker »
Aaron from Vermont
Beer brewing expert -  smoking newbie!

Grampy

Re: This smokin-it wood safe to use?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2016, 06:52:24 AM »
Hi folks. I'm brand new to smoking and am very excited. I just got my #2 smoker today. I also ordered three bags of wood from smokin-it and have a question. I attached pictures- is the darkness on the wood mold? Something else? I also saw some spalting on the sugar maple chunks and thought I read not to smoke splayed wood. I just got these bags in today with my order and wanted to know if it's all kosher or if there's an issue. Thanks much!

That does look like you have encountered some some surface mold on the wood. You can sanitize the wood and still use it. Here is how:

#1 Dilute 1.5 ounces of white vinegar in 3 gallons of water. Be sure wood is completely covered by the vinegar/water soultion.

#2 Let the wood soak in the solution for a minimum of 2 minutes.

#3 Pour off the vinegar/water solution and let the wood air dry.

#4 Store the wood in an open cardboard box or open crate container in a cool location that is away from direct sunlight.
Jimmy from Arkadelphia, AR
Smokin-It #2
Woo Pig Sooie!

Theslacker

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2016, 10:47:34 AM »
Thanks Grampy for the advice. I'm slightly bummed about this  :-[
Aaron from Vermont

Grampy