Author Topic: Trying the 3-2-1 for ribs  (Read 3659 times)

milleti

Trying the 3-2-1 for ribs
« on: January 26, 2014, 05:10:13 PM »
So this is my first try for these, using 3 oz. of hickory.  Rubbed the ribs with mustard and then applied a nice rub which is more on the sweet side with not much spice.  They are now on the last hour with a honey spice sauce on them for the last hour.  If these things taste as good as they smell, pigs really can fly!  Guess it didn't help to put that foil in the kitchen garbage can, the house smells great which is making this last hour pass so slowly.
Tim

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: Trying the 3-2-1 for ribs
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 06:34:02 PM »
Sounds good, Milleti.  Many of us have found that the 3-2-1 or 2-2-1 methods just aren't necessary in these smokers.  They're just so moisture-controlled that the "traditional" methods just aren't needed!

Next time you cook ribs, go 5 hours @ 225. without peeking or wrapping, and see what you think.  You'll find you have ribs that are just as moist, and have a better bark than wrapped ribs.  This is a constant debate on here, so take this for what it's worth! ;D   I just say try it, and see if it works for you!  That's what makes these smokers so great!...."Lazy Q" at its finest!
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

milleti

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 05:47:35 PM »
DivotMaker,

Will try it without the foil next time.  The 3-2-1s turned out great, momma really raved about them (photo attached) but she also said to give your recommendation a try.  Momma is very supportive of creating good Q.
Tim

Walt

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 06:14:19 PM »
The ribs look great.  After you do the no wrap method let us know which you liked better & what you perceived the difference was.