Author Topic: 2 7.5# butts  (Read 2172 times)

blandfor

2 7.5# butts
« on: October 09, 2016, 09:27:42 AM »
I have 2 7.5 pound boneless butts that I put in yesterday.  They've been in the #2 for 15 hours now and are up to 183.  Unfortunately I have to pull them in about 2.5 hours at they latest.  I had them going at 225 overnight and just upped the temp to 235.  Was hoping to get to at least 195 which feels like it's not going to happen.  Anybody know how many degrees per hour these butts will rise once they hit 180 after the stall? 

This is only my second go and the last time I did 2 butts they got to 198 in 14 hours and were absolutely perfect!
Joe

SmokedGouda

Re: 2 7.5# butts
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2016, 09:52:07 AM »
For my first butt it took 14 hours to get to 190 and then I removed it from the smoker and wrapped in foil in a cooler for 2 hours and then pulled it. Mine was about 9.75 lbs smoked at 225 with 6 oz of hickory. I'm not experienced at all but followed recipes and guidelines from here and it turned out great. If I can remember, I think mine seemed to stall for about 2-2.5 hrs

The only change I'm making next time is to cook at 235 instead. I was told that could help wth the bark that I'm hoping for.

Good luck, hope they turn out great!
Phil from NJ
Beginner.
Model 2. Cold smoke plate. Jerky dryer.
Maverick ET-732

ibbones

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2016, 11:06:23 PM »
Joe, I have done a handful of butts in my #3 and I put them on between 10:00-midnight.  They are usually around the 8 pound range.  I had one ready by 8:00am one time and one not reach temp until about 6:00pm.  I guess each piece of meat acts differently.  Most of the time they are ready around 2:00ish or so and I wrap them in foil and towels and into a cooler until supper time.
Michael "BONES" T. 
Victoria, Texas
3D

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2016, 11:05:24 AM »